Review: Project Management Process

Over the past few weeks, I have mentioned the Project Management Framework (PMF) over and over.  Well, I affectionately say good-bye to that topic with this post.  My last post covered the final stage or phase in the PMF, Closure.  In this post, I am going to provide a concise review  of the PMF and move on…never to look back.  (Do I hear cheers…seriously, not nice!)

The weekly video can be found here

The project framework I have been discussing is a result of my experience over the past 10 years and what I have seen at some of the largest financial institutions in the world, one the largest healthcare organizations in the U.S., and at one of the largest PC manufacturers in the world.  Most of you will recognize that it follows the PMI approach…so it is not new and it is not the end all-be all.

Why bother with a framework, I have experience, I am organized, and I can wing it?

  1. Establishing a PMF in your organization will help set expectations across the org…reducing time to socializing, educate, and gain acceptance
  2. Enables quicker training and on-boarding of new project team members
  3. Enables a common reference point for lessons learned and continuous improvement efforts
  4. Maturity of the organization will allow for an optimized corporate approach and customized business unit/dept. approaches
  5. Common documentation for future projects

So what are the phases of this PMF?

Project Initiation – This where the business case ($$$) is made and the vision is presented…does it solve a problem, capitalize on an opportunity, and simply comply with a government regulation.  During Initiation a Charter is created, key stakeholders identified,  high-level requirements listed, proposed launch date, risks, and assumptions are all identified.  Check out my full post on this phase here.

Project Planning – Okay, the project has officially been approved and you now have authority…go rule the world!!  Sorry, I am back. During the planning phase you will work heavily with your team to add detail to the requirements, estimate duration and resources needed to complete the tasks, develop your budget, build change/risk/communication plans, and develop a project schedule. Check out my full post on this phase here.

Project Execution – This is where you get ‘er done.  As the PM you will be performing Earned Value Analysis, reporting status, motivating team members, managing risk and changes, and ensuring quality.  Check out my full post on this phase here.

Project Closure – Put your badge on the table…did you successfully meet your customer’s expectations?  Complete a project close out report, gain final sign-off on the deliverables, report final schedule and budget numbers vs. the plan, host lessons learned, perform a survey for personal growth, and archive those documents.  Check out my full post on this phase here.

I hope you enjoyed these posts on the Project Management Framework.  I would like to thank all of you for your comments, for your RT on twitter, and so on…

Thank You   Danke    Grazi   Takk    ありがとう    děkuji

Merci    謝謝    Obrigado   Dakujem   Gracias    Sağol

.

2 thoughts on “Review: Project Management Process

  1. I drop a comment each time I appreciate a article on a website or if I
    have something to valuable to contribute to the discussion. It’s a result of the
    fire communicated in the article I browsed. And on this article Review:
    Project Management Process – Kelly's Contemplation. I was actually excited enough to post a commenta response ;) I do have 2 questions
    for you if it’s allright. Could it be simply me or does it look as
    if like a few of the comments appear like written by brain dead individuals?

    :-P And, if you are writing on other sites, I’d like to keep up with you.

    Would you make a list all of all your shared sites like your twitter feed, Facebook
    page or linkedin profile?

  2. I do not know whether it’s just me or if everyone else encountering problems with your blog.
    It appears as if some of the written text in your posts are running off
    the screen. Can somebody else please provide feedback
    and let me know if this is happening to them as well?
    This could be a problem with my web browser because I’ve had this happen previously.
    Thank you

Leave a Reply

